Prompt for the Day: “Safety First”


The boy/girl scout minded people of the Daily Post division of Word Press chose the prompt for today of “Safety First“.  The followed by giving us a single statement “Share the story of a time you felt unsafe.”

Being confined to a wheelchair

Leaves me constantly feeling unsafe.  Am confined due to a disease commonly known as multiple sclerosis.  Was the first in my family to be diagnosed.  Once I received the diagnoses, all my female relatives on my mother’s side of the family got an answer to their on going health problems as well.  Apparently, the idiot doctors in southern Illinois weren’t familiar with the illness.  My mom, her sister, my two female cousins, all have it.  We suspect my grandmother suffered from it as well, but she was dying from smoking induced cancers so her diagnoses was not pursued.  My great grandmother may have had it, since it was not a known disease at her time.  She died from something that sounded like she had an untreated case of the evil disease to me!

Have let the local emergency services in the area know I am stuck in a wheelchair and have a ramp located at the back door of our house.  Also informed them of my severe allergies, like the anaphylactic shock I go into when stung by wasps or bees.

Am also claustrophobic which causes problems when I am forced to have a MRI to check on the damage from the disease.  Hate getting into that stupid tiny tube where they bombard my body with beams from an electromagnet to observe the condition of my spine and brain.

Have a fear of falling, since I get waves of feeling like I am out in the middle of the ocean while I am sitting still.  Another symptom of the disease.  Have managed to actually fall off an exam table at a doctor’s office while laying on my back.  My husband claims I passed out, but I always thought you fell backwards when you pass out!

Please help fight my disease

The medicine my neurologist has me on for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri.  Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is impossible.  I remember when I first started on it , the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500.  There was no way my husband and I could afford that every 28 days!  Biogen (the manufacturing drug company) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely.  So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign.  To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

All help will be greatly appreciated.   Thank you for your generosity!

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

