Eclipse is the Prompt for Today


The people with their heads in the clouds at the Daily Post division of Word Press chose the word “Eclipse” for us to create our daily works of art about.

Remember the First One I Watched

Back in grade school.  We were not allowed to look directly at the sun (for obvious reasons), but had to view it through a strange cardboard construction we made in class.  Scary to trust my eyes to something I had crafted with my own two hands!   There were the usual class clowns that braved watching it with no protection for their eyes even though they had made one like I had in class.  Do not know if their vision was damaged at all years down the road.  If it was, they deserved it for not following our teacher’s instruction!

Did you get to view an eclipse as a child?

Loved Observing the Heavens

When I was younger, since I wanted to be an astronaut upon graduation from college.  Remember watching Halley’s Comet when it came near while I was still in junior high school back in 1986.  Was part of the Young Astronauts club that year.  Ended up as president of the club!  Maybe because I was the geekiest, who knows?

YoungAstronautPatch

Left State for College

There I unfortunately learned there was a height requirement for astronauts during my first semester away.  I was TOO short to ever achieve my dream!  Was a sudden shadow on my life’s goals.  Decided to change my major to computer science, since computers were my other interest in life.

Applied and was accepted for an internship with a dairy company at the end of my sophomore year.  There I studied and submitted a paper on the job of a computer programmer.  Found out that gave me absolutely no feeling of a life long career position, so the next semester looked into network administration.

Fell in love with the idea of not only being able to tell data packets where to go, but how to get there!  This would be my new dream job.  Was hired on permanently full time at the internship site.  That happened before I ever graduated from college!  Worked there for a few years after graduation, then a close co-worker passed away. Could not handle his empty desk.

If you would like to contact me, all you have to do is fill out the form below:

All comments will be read by me.  Thank you for your valuable insights!

Started searching for a new employer.   Found a company who dealt with the networks of fortune 500 companies ll over the country.  They actually hired little old me.  Drug my husband with me up to a suburb of Chicago to pursue my dream position in life.  Talk about a total eclipse!  From working for a dairy company to helping major companies deal with their Y2K difficulties, man had things changed.

Please Help Fight Evil Disease

Found out I had the disease a little over a year after graduation from college.  The medicine my neurologist prescribed for me to treat my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. If you would like to contribute to my fight against this mind stealing disease, please contribute by visiting  my personal website at http://saintpblogging.com/wp/ and seeing the copies of my writings located there!

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

