Chronic Disease and Disability


Does the one lead to the other?  Not necessarily.  For the record, I have a chronic disease called Multiple Sclerosis.  Which has led me to be permanently wheelchair bound.  People with the disease I am cursed with, may or may not end up in a wheelchair.  I know some who are still able to move around walking freely who have the same illness!

Chronic Disease

A chronic disease is one lasting 3 months or more, by definition of the U.S. National Center for Health Statistics.  They cannot be prevented by vaccines or cured by medication, nor do they just disappear by themselves.  Some you are just born with, unfortunately!

Disabilities

Some children are born with a disability.  The child did not cause the problem.  Should have been identified as a disabled person long before entering the school systems.

If you would like to make a comment, all you have to do is fill out the form below:

All comments will be read by me personally.  Thank you for submitting your comment!

Later people who become disabled are subject to having to be able to prove that they are disabled.  Which is a whole other nightmare of documentation to prove or dis-prove the case for the disabled person.  Have to possess an organized system of keeping track of doctors and their findings to successfully qualify for U.S. disability income.  What sucks even more is  the administrators make you feel like you are utterly worthless during the whole filling procedure.  Went to one examiner while living in Wisconsin that had a full flight of stairs for me to climb up to his front door!  Being in a wheelchair, if my husband hadn’t came with me, I would not have made it through his front door for my scheduled appointment!  Ended up getting rejected for my application in that state.

Relocated back to southern Illinois and got assistance from a company called Allsup who took over my application for me and got me approved!  Took 3 years from my first application in WI to the filling with Allsup in total before receiving first Social Security Disability check.

Having worked all my life and paying all required taxes the check turned out to be a great thing at first, but then looking back to the life style I used to be able to afford while I was able to work.  If my husband didn’t have a decent job we would be out on the streets today!

Please Help Fight Evil Disease

The medicine my neurologist prescribed for me to treat my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. If you would like to contribute to my fight against this mind stealing disease, please contribute by visiting  my personal website at http://saintpblogging.com/wp/ and seeing the copies of my writings located there!

 

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

