Prompt for the Day: “Childhood”


The kid minded people at the Daily Post group of Word Press want us to focus our various artistic creations for today on the word “Childhood“.

Doubt I was ever Truly a Child

Was reading alone by myself at the age of three.  Started kindergarten at the wise old age of four years old.  Was an afternoon class with people in the tiny location of Lenzburg, IL.  My mother made put on a dress for my first day at school. She personally drove me there the first time.  Took the bus home where my mom and dog waited for me at the end of the lane.  The bus driver told my mom not to worry, he would make sure I was able to get myself off the bus and safely cross the road each day.  Became good friends with the driver over the next few years.  Since the lane ended on a major highway, mom was still a little nervous at first.  Made friends at school who would be friends for the next two years at least.

The school closed down completely after my first grade year was complete.  Had to take the school bus (same driver) to the big town of Marissa for second grade on up.  (Town population back then was only about 2,436.)  In the bigger school we were separated into different class rooms.  Only saw my friends during the short recess periods.  As the year went on, some of my friends stopped being my friends, since they had more people to interact with.  I made a few new friends as well.

Upon starting the fourth grade year I was subjected to a series of tests by a strange woman.  (I.Q. tests apparently.)  They stuck me in a gifted program at school.  Was a lot of fun.  Got to read and discuss great books in that class.  Some of the kids in the program were a few years older than I was.  But we all got along fine.

Please Help Fight Evil Disease

The medicine my neurologist prescribed for me to treat my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

One thought on “Prompt for the Day: “Childhood”

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

