Prompt for the Day: “Grain”


The apparent out casts of society want us to try to educate them on going with the Grain by choosing the word for the prompt of today.

Been Going Against the Grain

My whole life.  My head refused to drop down for my mother to give birth to me.  Caused her to be forced to deliver by caesarean section.  In those days, once you have a child in this manner, all following kids have to be removed in this way.  So my two little brothers had to be cut out too.

You would think I would straighten up and fly right after such a dramatic birth, but no I didn’t.  Hated being a female.  There were too many restrictions on what females could and could not do.  Girls were forced to urinate sitting down, I taught myself to be able to urinate standing up with pin-point accuracy.  My mother was not impressed especially when I taught the little girl from church how to do it too!  Why not share the knowledge?  Her mom was not impressed with either that or the fact the two of us decided to color on the walls of my bedroom.  All this before entering kindergarten!

Learned to read before I ever attended school.  Reading the funny papers at my grandparents was how I learned the truth about Santa Claus.  Had to promise not to tell my classmates the truth when I started school.  Used to help our bus driver clean the trash off the floor once he had dropped off most of the other kids on our route each day.

The dog my parents had gotten to protect us was my faithful companion watching me walk down the lane to the highway where the bus stopped to pick me up and drop me off each day.  The animal learned how to recognize cars of people who came to pick me up to leave our property.  If she didn’t know them she refused to allow the vehicle to leave unless my mom told her it was all right.  She was as stubborn as I was!

Hated being forced to wear dresses when I was little.  Truth be told, still do!  Prefer to wear pants.  Even in high school, wore a thin pair of shorts under my dresses when I wore them!  Yes, I had a pair of shorts on under my prom dresses (Junior and Senior prom both)!

Been fighting the system since I was born.  Have no plans on stopping!  My husband is too used to my hard-headedness.  Stopping would confuse both me and too many others.

Please Help Fight Evil Disease

The medicine my neurologist prescribed for me to treat my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

