Prompt for the Day: “Disaster”


The curious people at the Daily Post division of Word Press gave us the prompt for the day of “Disaster” to form our day’s artistic product around.

My Daily Disasters

Seems like each day is just one crisis after another.  Fortunately, have had no severe falls so far today.  But almost did a nose dive into the tub in the upstairs bathroom this morning while trying to transfer my body from my wheelchair to the toilet seat.  Scared myself to death!  My husband was in the process of waking up as I returned shaking to the bedroom to get dressed for the day.

Made it safely through getting dressed and into the front room.  Had to inspect the house to see if the vomiting noise I heard our cat make at 3:14 this morning was a mess.  Apparently, our feline is an extremely convincing faker!

So far no more disasters today, I am lucky!  A few days ago, a neighbour knocked on the front door to let me know there was a dead cat at the end of the front stairs to our house.  Since our cat is strictly an indoor animal, knew it wasn’t ours.

So I tried leaving the house using the back door which has my wheelchair ramp connected to  it.  Had no problems getting to the detached garage’s driveway.  Tried going out onto the road off the driveway and couldn’t get both wheels to connect to make me move either forward or back!  I was stuck half way out onto the road.  Cars just passed by without slowing (luckily did not hit me!).  The lady in the house across the street was out in her front yard with her dogs.  I yelled over asking for help.

The nice lady (not the one who had informed me of the dead animal) had to convince her animals they could not come out the gate with her.  She pushed my wheelchair back up onto our driveway.  Promised her that I would not try leaving the driveway without having somebody there to help me up on level ground.  The driveway to our second garage is anything but level!

Please Help Fight Terrible Disease

The medicine my neurologist prescribed for me to treat my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign. To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

One thought on “Prompt for the Day: “Disaster”

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 16 – “My Kingdom For An Honest Newspaper Headline” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

