Prompt for the Day: “Fight”


Wouldn’t have expected the cowards at the Daily Post division of Word Press to chose the word “Fight” to inspire our creations for today.

I Fight Continuously

Started out fighting the faulty educational system where I grew up in in the middle of nowhere in southern Illinois.  Engaging in battle with the doctor I was forced to use as a child who always commented I was crazy or imagining things.  Went away to college to discover I actually had a disease known as multiple sclerosis.

A chiropractor stumbled upon this observation after me seeing him continuously for my neck and back being out of alignment.  He sent me for my first M.R.I.  The procedure was not just like an X-ray like he told me it would be.  They strapped my head down onto the table then fed the table into a long tiny tube (happen to be claustrophobic).  When they pulled the table out they tried to inject me with God knows what (am needle phobic, too).  Tried literally jumping off the table (remember the head was strapped down)!  Not a good move.  Since I had changed my position, they would have to terminate the session.  So I slinked back home to await the chiropractor’s call on the results of the failed test.

When he finally set up my next appointment, I reported prepared for a battle.  First off, the procedure was nothing like a simple x-ray, and now I had a really sore neck from having it secured to the table then flying off!  There were no other patients in the office which were really weird.  Normally the waiting room was full and noisy.  The nurses were even nicer than usual (they were extremely nice normally).  Was afraid someone had died or something.  They showed me to an exam room, so I started to get undressed for a spinal adjustment, they told me that would not be necessary.  The doctor just wanted to talk to me today.

Now my nerves were really starting to get the better of me.  I had done absolutely nothing wrong during the M.R.I. procedure, I just had been frightened.  When the doctor came in, he apologized to me for no longer being able to help me.   I either had spinal cancer or multiple sclerosis.  To get the correct diagnosis, I would have to undergo another M.R.I. this time using the contrast the nurses tried to inject in me last time.  He also suggested I try taking the valium before the next scan.  I told him that the drug had no effect on me the last time I was given it.  So he drafted the paperwork to have me sedated for the test.

After being fully sedated, I managed to sleep through them running the first round of scans and then injecting me with the contrast dye for the second round of scanning.  He also had gotten me an appointment scheduled with an area neurologist.  A few weeks after the scan was completed, I met with my first neurologist.  He told me I definitely had multiple sclerosis.  This is a disease I will be fighting for the rest of my life, unfortunately!

Please Help Fight Destructive Disease

The medicine my neurologist prescribed for me to treat my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign. To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

2 thoughts on “Prompt for the Day: “Fight”

  1. Pingback: fighting with a sad sick world | eastelmhurst.a.go.go

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

