Prompt for the Day: “Legacy”


The people from the Daily Post division of Word Press actually chose this prompt for yesterday, but I had a doctor’s appointment, so I am using it today.  The prompt for my writing today is “Legacy“.

My Legacy

Legacy used as an adjective is basically what I started my networking career working with!  It is relating to old or outdated computer hardware, software, or data that, while still functional, does not work well with up-to-date systems.  My first full-time job working with networks was on machines that had been around as about as long as I had personally!  Wasn’t even 21 years old but was trusted with huge mainframe computer operations.  Communications between desktop computers were not using ethernet there yet.  That upgrade happened during my third year with the company.  They had been creeping along using Token ring.  (Used to joke about it being Broken ring in reality!)

Left the company to move on to bigger and better things.  Mending networks throughout the midwestern US were going to be my legacy for my life.  Enjoyed solving networking problems for major corporations helped them survive the year 2000 crisis (not a real problem in reality).  Moved all over the US through my employer.  Got to spend 7 years in the state of Colorado.  Left that company when it started to fall apart.  Ended up working for a DSL provider that after working there for about 2 years went bankrupt.  So I got laid off.  Eventually ended up getting a contract position working for the Department of Homeland Security.  (Should have been called the Department of Insecurity considering I was working on routers all over the world never getting my clearance!)

Please Help Fight Destructive Disease

The medicine my neurologist has prescribed for me for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign. To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

