Prompt for the Day-“The Road Less Traveled”


The vagabonds from the Daily Press division of Word Press chose “The Road Less Traveled” for today’s prompt to start us on our creation’s journey.  Then they added two simple statements:”Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.”

Prompt triggered a poetry memory of Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken“.

Left to go out of state to College Alone

Had received a full ride scholarship to Southwest Missouri State University.  Was only 17 when I left home alone.  Knew absolutely no one at the school I would be attending.  Had I attended a local school, would have never ended up meeting the man I would end up marrying!

He was not a student, but we met through an on-line dating service at the end of my sophomore year.  Had just gotten over a bad break up with the guy I was dating at the end of my freshman year.  He was a little TOO possessive of me.  The guy actually broke into the apartment I was living in by myself!  Took a pair of my underwear.  Tried informing the local police of his actions, but they just laughed at me!

Would have never gotten the internship that started my career into computer networking had I attended a local school.  Got to meet major players in the networking industry first hand.  Made friends that would remain with me for the rest of my life.

Please Help Fight this Evil Disease

The medicine my neurologist has prescribed for me for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is basically nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford then or every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign. To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

 

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

