Prompt of the Day: “Alma Mater”


The cruel people at the Daily Post division of Word Press obviously do not realize how much I hated the place I attended school or the would not have chosen “Alma Mater” for the daily prompt to try to inspire our creations for the day!  If that wasn’t bad enough, they added two sentences of added directions-“You’ve been asked to speak at your high school alma mater — about the path of life. (Whoa.) Draft the speech.”

Never want to visit that evil town ever Again!

Granted I graduated second in my class (would have been top if the other girl hadn’t cheated on her chemistry final), but got the heck out of dodge as soon as possible!  My original graduation speech was rejected since I told the truth about my high school experience there.  Had to rewrite a grossly sappy speech to be allowed to give the speech I had earned the chance to give.

Left for college in another state of the country at the old age of 17.  The new town I was living in actually had curbs on their sidewalks!  My face met up with the pavement really quick after that painful lesson!  Was not old enough to check myself into the emergency room.  They had to get my mom to fax written permission to treat me for the messed up front teeth.  They did not detect that I had seriously done damage to my nose while I was there.

Many years later after living in several different states of this country, would I finally get a general practitioner who realized I had caused my nose to have a deviated septum.  This was uncovered when she tried to have me use a neti pot to help my sinuses.  Could not get water to move from one nostril to the other nostril.  So she has me resort to just putting saline up each nostril in turn.  Works, just not what the doctor was wanting me to have to do.

Please Help Fight this Evil Disease

The medicine my neurologist has put me on for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is nearly impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that every 28 days! Biogen (the company that manufactures the drug) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign. To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

2 thoughts on “Prompt of the Day: “Alma Mater”

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

