Prompt for the Day: “Keeping up with the Jones’”


The editors from the Daily Post division of Word Press know way too much about my family’s history when they chose the writing prompt for today of “Keeping up with the Jones’“.  My grandma on my mother’s side’ maiden name was Jones! The people from the daily post added two simple statements-“Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.”

Been accused of this before

After the car I was driving lost the use of the second gear had to replace it with a new one because the cost of having the transmission repaired was way outside my college budget!  When I made the over six-hour drive back to the state I came from to visit family, dropped by my grandparent’s house for Sunday lunch like normal.  Showed my grandpa my new (actually used, but new to me) car.  Grandma followed us out and pointed out she had just gotten rid of her old car just like my new one.  She told me I should stop trying to keep up with the Jones!

New Used Jeep Grand Cherokee

The car like my grandmother had eventually gave out on me.  The automatic windows no longer came down when the button was pushed.  Makes going through a drive-up window at the bank rather difficult to manage.  The last straw was when the car began to overheat and the front seat began filling up with smoke!  Pulled over in the nearest parking lot turned the car off and popped the hood release button.  Standing beside the car in a Chicago IL area parking lot, pushed the hood up all the way.  Good thing I had gloves on, because flames were shooting out of the engine!

Called my husband to let him know what had happened and get a ride back to our apartment.  I was not getting back in the flaming car again!  He let me drive his truck home while he moved our car back to the apartment complex.  His next job was to find me a new vehicle so I would be able to get to and from work each day.  Fortunately, I had a few days off so he was not pressed to get the flaming car sold and replaced with a new means of transportation for me.  He found a good deal on a used Jeep Grand Cherokee that would take my car as a trade in!  Very happy to be rid of that car.  Fell in love with the new vehicle that we nicked named “Spot” because rain would make a spotted pattern on the black surface of the vehicle.

After relocating to Colorado, it eventually started having what was later recalled by the manufacturer for the brakes kicking on and off unpredictably.  Left me stranded in the middle of a busy intersection once too many times.  We traded it in for a different used car.  I still miss Spot, though!

Please Help Fight this Evil Disease

The medicine my neurologist has me on for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri. Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is impossible. I remember when I first started on the drug the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500. There was no way my husband and I could afford that every 28 days! Biogen (the manufacturing drug company) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely. So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign. To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

All help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your generosity!

 

One thought on “Prompt for the Day: “Keeping up with the Jones’”

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

