Prompt for the Day: “Un/Faithful”


The sacrilegious people at the Daily Post division of Word Press created the prompt for today of “Un/Faithful”  Then they gave us a single additional instruction: “Tell us about the role that faith plays in your life — or doesn’t.”

My Faith

My parents forced me to attend and then be confirmed in the faith created and ran by the United Church of Christ.  In my opinion (by age eight) they were only interested in what money I could give them!  Was confirmed in the faith my eighth grade year in school.  Still hated going there to worship every Sunday.  Preferred to do my praying up in an old apple tree in our front yard.  That is where I read, had talks with God, you get the idea.  Was my private sanctuary.

Left home to attend college alone out-of-state.  Tried joining the local UCC, in that town.  They were not interested in letting college kids join their organization.   So I ended up going to another church with a friend I had already made there in college.  She took me to the local Methodist church.  They not only welcomed me, but let me join their adult choir, bell choirs, and made me feel welcome in their community!  We went on yearly outings where we helped the elderly and or other wise disabled people of the area winterize their homes.  Got pretty skilled at putting up window sealants (plastic coverings) on the lower windows.  Caroling trips happened year round as we visited various homes for the retired people in local towns.  Made may friends in that group of people!

Please help fight my disease

The medicine my neurologist has me on for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri.  Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is impossible.  I remember when I first started on it , the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500.  There was no way my husband and I could afford that every 28 days!  Biogen (the manufacturing drug company) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue helping indefinitely.  So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign.  To contribute to the fund, click on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

All help will be greatly appreciated.   Thank you for your generosity!

 

 

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

