Prompt for the Day: “Humble Pie”


The word smiths in the Daily Post group of Word Press came up with the prompt for today of “Humble Pie“.  They gave us one single added direction to our writings for the day “Tell us about a time you found out after the fact that you’d been mistaken and you had to eat a serving of humble pie.”

My biggest serving recently had to do with informing my uncle (who happens to be a minister with the United Church of Christ) that the state of Indiana didn’t allow same sex marriages to be accepted as a legal marriage.  Thought I had heard it on the morning news.  Turned out I had gotten the state incorrect.   The state on the news was Iowa.  (It started with an “i” at least!)  He was planning a trip there anyway, so I made sure to let him know about the error before he left.
//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js //
When I left home for college out of state at the wise old age of 17, tried to join the church in my new place of residence.  Was told they were not interested in accepting college students in their church.  Had been confirmed in my hometown UCC after my eighth grade year in school.  Was forced to join even though I had asked the minister at the time not to make me join.  I believed in God, just not the way that church practiced their faith.  They were only after the congregation’s money, not actually helping other people.  So I did not pursue returning to the UCC again.  One of my friends invited me to join her church’s choir with her.  The Methodist church not only welcomed college students, they gave them a place to join in their religion!  They invited me to sing in their choir, play on the bell choir, even had me play duets with my friend on our clarinets during the offertory!

Down the road drug a boy I was dating to choir practice with me.  One Sunday, I officially switched to the Methodist church.  Since I had already been through confirmation, all I needed was a sponsor.  Found several without any problems.  The guy I brought to church with me was a Catholic, so he had to attend confirmation classes.  Eventually he was confirmed one Sunday morning!   Turned out to be a good thing, since we ended up getting married in that church the day after I graduated from college.

Please help fight my disease

The medicine my neurologist has me on for my multiple sclerosis is called Tysabri.  Trying to find the actual cost on the internet is impossible.  I remember when I first started on it , the amount the facility tried charging me was well over $2500.  There was no way my husband and I could afford that every 28 days!  Biogen (manufacturing drug company) has been helping us with some of the cost of the drug, but will not continue indefinitely.  So I have started a Go Fund Me campaign.  To contribute to it click, on the following link: https://www.gofundme.com/zfabhdes

All help will be greatly appreciated.   Thank you for your generosity!

‪#‎30DaysOfContent‬

 

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

