Prompt for the Day: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles”


The adventurous people of the Daily Press portion of Word Press posed the following prompt to get our writing engines started for the day: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles“.  If that wasn’t enough they added the following comment:  “You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?)”

Personally for trips of more than a few hours, I prefer flying in a commercial jet.  Tend to get cramped when sitting in a car for more than 3 hours at a time.  Used the commuter trains every day, while I resided in the Chicago-metro area back in  the late 1990’s.  Was a few years before the 9/11/2001 tragedy occurred.  Sleeping on the trains back then going to work was completely safe.  Wouldn’t be willing to risk it now!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Used to love riding my bike on the back roads growing up in southern Illinois.  Went off alone to college in Missouri, where during the first long weekend, wrecked my bicycle.  Kinda damaged my two front teeth (that’s all that we realized at the time).  Now years later, have discovered did a little more damage.  The hospital I went to back then couldn’t even treat me because I was only 17 years old.  My mom had to fax papers giving them permission to help stop the bleeding.  Eventually, had to have two caps placed on the 2 broken teeth.  Apparently, my nose suffered some major damage.  Have a deviated septum that no one noticed until the past several years!

Doubt I will ever get the nerve to travel by hot air balloon.  Ships are also out of the question, now that I can no longer swim to try to save my life.  Used to be a Red Cross certified life guard in junior high school.  Can’t even save myself now, let alone anyone else!

One thought on “Prompt for the Day: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles”

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

