Final COSTUMES post


In my junior year of high school, my friend/ second cousin and I passed out candy from my grandparents’ front porch in Marissa.  We were both dressed as scare crows.

Forget what she actually had on her face, but I had one of those cheap monster masks on my head (tilted so it looked like it was falling off).  One brave little boy (maybe 3 or 4 years old tried to get my mask) then I stood up!  Scared the poor child to death.  I took my mask completely off and offered him a handful of candy.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

We both apologized to the adult that was with the kid.  Hadn’t meant to scare him at all.  We were just doing the job of giving out candy to the neighborhood kids, so my grandparents could enjoy a peaceful evening of cards with their friends.  The noise drew my grandma out to the front porch to make sure nothing serious was going on.  (She was losing at the card game anyway.)  So much for giving them a quiet Halloween with their friends!  At least we tried.

Don’t think the kid will bother my grandparents again.  Was not our intent to scare the kids away, but the way the neighborhood was heading down hill, may have been a blessing in disguise!  The town has literally gone to pot since I left for college.  Went to school out of state to put miles between me and my father.

Had to retreat back to the disgusting Illinois town one more time after we tried living in Wisconsin.  Lasted in WI less than a year.  Came crawling back with our tails between our legs to find my grandparent’s house in a shambles of filth.  If my grandma saw the state my aunt had let the house sink to, she would be haunting her for the rest of her life!

For more COSTUMES related posts, feel free to visit the PROMPT STOMP‘s blog pages!

One thought on “Final COSTUMES post

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

