Prompt for the Day: “Can’t Drive 55”


The evil people from the Daily Post group of Word Press came up with the daily prompt of “Can’t Drive 55“.  I accuse them of being evil, because I no longer am able to drive at all!  Hate being constantly reminded of this terrible tragedy!  Started driving when I was the wise old age of 12 on our family’s farm property.  Hit the public roads at the age of 14!

They suggested we do the following instruction to craft our latest work “Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!”.  The song “Hotel California” by the Eagles gives me “Up ahead in the distance, I saw a shimmering light“.  Made the mistake of spending an entire month alone in California.  Was the longest month in my life.  Never want to return to that hell again!

Missed the first full month with the two kittens we had just adopted into our family.  My kitten wouldn’t even come near me for days!  Those two animals would end up moving to several different states with us.  Wish I could get that month back with them!

Unfortunately, my husband’s cat passed away first.  He had survived four different states of this country with us.  Alas, he never made it to the fifth and final state of our journeys.  My cat mourned the loss of his brother and traveling companion severely.  We made him travel to a new and final state alone without his brother for his amusement.  He lived a weary two more years.  He was sick continuously, so we had to have him put to sleep one final time.  Was not able to be with him as he passed, because the vet’s office was not handicap accessible.  My husband had to help him meet up with his brother, after the cat missed him for so long.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

