Daily Prompt : Handwritten


The daily prompt from the Daily Post at WordPress was “Handwritten“.  Considering that today is the 14 year after the tragic bombings on American soil, I would have thought they would have used a more patriotic type of prompt!

Do you remember were you were when you heard the news that horrible day?  On September 11, 20001, I was watching CNN in my front room of our house in Colorado.  Had just been laid off from my job as a layer 3 network engineer at Rhythms Netconnections.  The company ended up filing bankruptcy and then closing down completely.  Had been hoping to hear news on a possible place for future employment.  Instead ended up seeing a plane fly directly into the first of the two twin towers.

Was a thoroughly depressing period of my life!  My country was falling apart along with my life.  My life was composed of what I did at work each day.  Loved managing traffic of data crossing our networks at the places that I worked.  Had to file for unemployment for the first time in my life.  Although I would not know it until later, would end up losing the house we were in the process of buying.  Loved that house’s view from my office.  Could look out the window to see the mountains over my desk!  Talk about instant inspiration.  Was a very patriotic kid when I was little.

My grandfather had served for the United States Navy.  He ended up passing away after watching our country’s pathetic response to the terrorist attack on our soil.  His voyages took him all around the world.  He lived out much of what I learned in high school history classes first hand!  There is no better way to learn history than to have someone share their personal experiences with you.  My teachers did a very poor job of interesting their students in the history of the world, let alone the history of the country in which we lived.

Today’s teachers are wanting to do away with teaching children the art of writing by hand.  Without decent penmanship how will the kids become the adults of the future?  How will they be able to legibly sign their own names, if they weren’t taught how to posses decent handwriting in the first place?

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Handwritten

  1. purpleslobinrecovery

    I hate that handwriting has fallen into such difavor. It is an important life skill! What if all the computer shut down? For whatever reason, how will our kids communicate??? Thanks for the reflection of 9-11, and your grandfather’s service.
    By the way, you’ve been chosen as one of today’s nine blogs in That’s So Jacob’s Ninth Month Blog Challenge! I challenge you to find nine blogs you find interesting and give them a comment to brighten their day…well, eight other blogs and mine 🙂 Copy this message in your comment and enjoy your new blog friends.

    Like

    Reply

Leave either your saintly wisdom or even better demonic musings!

